Hide Magento header mini-cart window by clicking outside

This was really annoying me as I found a nice lib which worked called jquery-outside-events , which I forked onto my own Github (could be tidier/easier imho) but it wouldn’t work! The reason I think was possibly it was conflicting with Prototype JS, which Magento uses.

The $ symbol is reserved for Prototype so I found I had to replace $(‘#etc’); with jQuery(‘#etc’); Since doing that however I’ve discovered you can call $j instead of $ or jQuery.

Anyway! Here’s the code you need:

$j('body').click(function (event)
{
    element = $j(event.target);
    if(element.parents('.skip-link.skip-cart').length == 1 || element.hasClass('skip-cart'))
    {
        return;
    }
    var parent = $j('.minicart-wrapper').parents('.skip-content');
    var link = parent.siblings('.skip-link');

    if (element.parents('.minicart-wrapper').length == 0) {
        parent.removeClass('skip-active');
        link.removeClass('skip-active');
    }
});

Now when you click show basket, the basket appears, but you can now click elsewhere on the page to make it close again!

Leave a Reply

