load ZF1 classes in Zend Framework 2 using composer

I’ve started using Apigility for building my API for my mobile app of my site! It’s incredible, you have to try it!

Anyway, I wanted to be able to load my existing code into ZF2 so I didn’t have to reinvent the wheel.

My API is running on a subdomain in an api sub folder within the main project. In the api folder, I made a folder called library. Then I symlinked my Zend and other folders from my ZF1 project into it (this may not have been necessary, but I didn’t want ../.. relative link type stuff in my composer.json)

:~/www/site/api/library$ ln -s ../../application/library/Zend Zend
:~/www/site/api/library$ ln -s ../../application/library/ZendX ZendX
:~/www/site/api/library$ ln -s ../../application/library/TTB TTB
:~/www/site/api/library$ ln -s ../../application/library/AA AA

Next you need to do is tell composer.json about your libraries.

 "autoload": {
 "psr-0": {
 "AA_": "library/",
 "Zend_": "library/",
 "ZendX_": "library/"
 }
 },
 "include-path": [
 "library"
 ]

Finally get composer generating autoload files. Type in:

~/www/site/api$ composer dump-autoload
Generating autoload files

And thats it! You should now be able to call things like:

$awesome = new Zend_Pdf();
$old_skool = new AA_Old_Skool_Class();

Yay!

Leave a Reply

