Yes yes I know. Please. I’m just doing my job.

Anyway, hatred of MS and their less than satisfactory web based products aside, heres how to set up a Zend Framework App on IIS. I am assuming IIS is already up and running and that PHP is installed (only because thats where I started from)

Open IIS, in the computer click on Web Sites.
In the action menu click new website.
Put in a description, hit next.
Stick the servers IP in, port, and domain, hit next
Browse to sites home path hit next
Assign permissions (I had to browse to folder, right click and un-read-only my session, uploads, and logs folders), hit next, and finish.

Ok. Now IIS uses some thing thats similar to .htaccess, only it isn’t. Its called IIRF, and it needs setting up if it isn’t already. You can get it here: Download the Ionic’s ISAP Rewrite Filter (IIRF) here

Create Iirf.ini and shove this in it: (this took hours of farting around to get working :-s )

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -s [OR]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -l [OR]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d

RewriteRule ^/(.*(\.js|\.swf)(\?.+))$ - [L,I]
RewriteRule ^/(.*(\.js|\.ico|\.gif|\.jpg|\.png|\.css|\.html|\.htm|\.swf|\.flv))$ /$1 [L,I]
RewriteRule ^/(.*)$ /index.php/$1 [L,I]

Put this in your Zend Apps public folder. Note that the commented out rule is for ignoring css js and image files etc in your public folder so as not to get rewritten. However it messes with your GET parameters when you have a filename in the query.(IF anyone knows how to write a rule that say continue to route it if those extensions come after a question mark then PLEASE let me know!)

Restart IIS, and that should be you!

NB. Neither delboy1978uk nor anyone else endorses the use of IIS for any serious web development.

NB. I have found normal clean urls work but ?query=param gets dont! i will update once i fix this!

